Criminal Defense: DWI/DUI/Alcohol-Related Arrests

The attorneys of the Meehan Law Firm represent individuals who have been stopped and charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI) or any other alcohol- or drug-related offense. If you are ever stopped and placed under suspicion of drunk driving, you should not take the breath test, as the tests are inaccurate. It also makes it easier for the state or local government to prosecute you. If you were stopped in Missouri and you have taken the test, you have 15 days in which to act. It is crucial that you contact an attorney within that 15-day period.

The penalties for drunk driving are graduated. First-time offenders typically receive probation if they complete a series of alcohol education and behavior management programs. The Missouri Department of Revenue, however, will take action, and you can lose your license for up to 30 days in a first-time offense. The penalties for second and third offenses increase rapidly, including ignition interlock systems, loss of driving privileges for up to one year and even possible jail time. Drivers who have had three or more alcohol-related arrests in Missouri face a felony charge, which is punishable by up to four years in the Department of Corrections. The Meehan Law Firm has experts available to evaluate your case, and to get you the least possible punishment available for your situation.